Eastbourne mamaku

This fine mamaku, growing close to the house in a friend’s Eastbourne garden, was planted many years ago by his father. A second, much younger specimen growing elsewhere in the garden was transplanted as a seedling from a bush garden in Kelburn, where I used to live.

Cyathea medullaris, popularly known as the black tree fern, is a large tree fern up to 20m tall. It is distributed across the south-west Pacific from Fiji to Pitcairn and New Zealand. It is called mamaku, katātā, kōrau, or pītau in the Māori language.” (Wikipedia)

4 thoughts on “Eastbourne mamaku

    • Casting about for some suitable thing which might reflect your delight in language, I headed for the Internet. GoodReads offers many citations – some erudite, witty, or clever; others beautiful, poetic. The following, from Katherine Dunn, appeals immensely: “I have been a believer in the magic of language since, at a very early age, I discovered that some words got me into trouble and others got me out.”
      But wait! There’s more: “The struggle of literature is in fact a struggle to escape from the confines of language; it stretches out from the utmost limits of what can be said; what stirs literature is the call and attraction of what is not in the dictionary.” (Italo Calvino)

  1. When I read Italo Calvino lo these many years ago, I took great delight in his language. But I find today that I disagree with what he’s saying here —That’s okay, though. Everything changes, including opinions and ideas.
    Thank you for jogging pleasing memories. Katherine Dunn is new to me, and I find the quote very funny. (True, too.)
    The delight in language I felt as a child remains with me still as an oldie in the Alice books by Lewis Carroll. The conversation about words between Humpty Dumpty and Alice in Through the Looking Glass is the apotheosis of language and wit and simple delight.

Leave a Reply

