Feeding the birds

feeding the birds

feeding the birds

.

.

Old man tossing bread
by the handful to the birds
– those I always feed.

__________

Around the city I see pensioners – men in the main – with bags of bread. At bus-stops, getting on and off the buses, occupying park benches … they’re feeding the birds.

In my little garden, I am visited by blackbirds, finches, and silver-eyes, as well as by sparrows and starlings.

For an occasional treat, I sit in Civic Square with a packet of hot chips. Seagulls and sparrows are quick-eyed and quick-witted, often catching the scraps I throw to them. The pigeons don’t get much to eat from me – they’re not quick enough.

__________

Image found on imgfave – posted by Rose By Any Other Name

Leave a Reply

