Crash! tinkle tinkle

Several times recently, I’d cautioned myself about the risk. A week or so ago, I’d knocked the tallest of them, set it teetering …

But the row of vases had remained on the shelf.

The shock was nothing more than the shock of spectacle. I felt no sense of disaster, no pang of loss.

Spectacle? Not literally; I didn’t actually see the glassware tumble. But the dizzying beauty of the sound conjured a brilliant image – as if an enormous pane of glass had burst.

The vase that fell and broke dates back to a phase of my life long past, long abandoned … and it had cost comparatively little anyway.

Had I paid more attention to the risk, I would not have broken the vase … would not have heard that glorious cascade of glittering shards.

Leave a Reply

