Creating possibilities

If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. (Henry David Thoreau, in Walden)

One website I visited today in search of Thoreau assured me that “This favorite quote from Henry David Thoreau is perfect for that special iconoclast in your life …” (They were, of course, keen to sell me something.)

Yuk! I muttered. I have no wish to be anybody’s “special iconoclast”. Seeing those two words strung together like that forcibly brought home to me how cunningly those who see themselves as ‘normal’ and ‘sane’ and ‘ordinary’ use language to quarantine us, assigning us to taxonomic pigeonholes intended to render us comparatively harmless.

Okay, I’m doing a bit of a rant. But I’m not going to self-edit … I’m going to leave it in for once. 

And now that I’ve looked my feelings of disappointment, futility, frustration, ineptitude and failure squarely in the eye …

You might have noticed that I haven’t specifically mentioned blogging; that’s because what I’m talking about doesn’t apply only to blogging. I’m guessing you will by now have seen exactly where it relates to you.

Instead of creating expectations of what should or should not be happening, cooperate with the form that this moment takes. Bring a ‘yes’ to the isness, because it’s pointless to argue if it already is. A greater intelligence is available to you when you no longer reject, deny, or ‘don’t want’ what is. (Eckhart Tolle)

PS: Let me repeat this little snip from Wikipedia, which I used in a comment on my previous post: “Mindfulness, which is an attentive awareness of the reality of things (especially of the present moment) is an antidote to delusion … This faculty becomes a power in particular when it is coupled with clear comprehension of whatever is taking place.”

Leave a Reply

