All within the same circle

If we are all within the same circle, then all of this is One Body; there is no outside. Since there is no outside, there is no inside either. (Bernie Glassman, in Infinite circle : teachings in Zen)

“If I look at anger, that’s me,” says Bernie Glassman; “it’s not outside me. If I look at the trees and the river, they’re me, too; they’re not outside me.”

This is one of the fundamental teachings of Zen. 

__________
Glassman, Bernie. 2002. Infinite circle : teachings in Zen. Boston: Shambhala. [p 6-7]

Leave a Reply

