Sanitation? … or sanitization?

The past actually happened but history is only what someone wrote down.  (A. Whitney Brown, in The Big Picture)

Now that I’ve cleaned out most of the debris – the unwanted, the worthless and the useless – I find myself with an awkward and unexpected dilemma: how much of the documentation that remains of my past life do I need to keep? and how much do I need to shred, incinerate or otherwise destroy?

PS (18 March 2014): Further to Sanitation? … or sanitization?, I have recently posted Giving up the past, which deals with the topic in more depth.

3 thoughts on “Sanitation? … or sanitization?

  1. divine….fortunately our brain works as nature works….always clean and natural……learn to unlearn for space…..only essence has to kept…few words to say more is sanitization….many words to become few words is sanitation…
    first …sanitation and after sanitization…

    love all…

    please visit…http://nature0wonderama.wordpress.com/ will value your comment…

    • Thanks for your ongoing interest. This time, however, you seem to have missed the point entirely. The between-the-lines inferences and implications of my post have to do, on the one hand, with destroying incriminating evidence, hiding my inner life … and, on the other hand, with holding on to mementos and souvenirs, and maintaining a record of things I want to remember.

  2. Pingback: Giving up the past | cross-ties

Leave a Reply

