Shaking the tree

What is more mortifying than to feel that you have missed the plum for want of courage to shake the tree? (Logan Pearsall Smith)

I have a new hero! – someone who seems to have said so many of the things I’ve been burning to say “but lacked the courage to shake the tree.”

The plum-tree quotation (which I knew well) came to mind when I was preparing today’s photograph; but I never knew who’d said it … to my surprise, I didn’t even recognise his name.

Trees (08 Jul 10)

Trees (08 Jul 10)

About the photograph: far from being a fine example of technical excellence, it’s a lovely serendipity. The winter twilight’s soft and sombre colours, the gently-shaking branches … a happy accident that captured the moment (and the magic) perfectly.

2 thoughts on “Shaking the tree

Leave a Reply

